Episode 45 (Part 4 of 5): Dad SALUTE!

All this week I will be turning the spotlight on some of the fathers who inspire me. Whether it’s 6 kids or 1… or maybe not even their physical children, but the hundreds that serve as a volunteer in various shelters and after school programs, these men represent a side of black fatherhood & manhood not often seen in the public eye.  These men do not expect a standing ovation for living up to their roles as men and fathers, but I’m sure the gesture is appreciated :)

Next up: a special dedication to one of the greatest dad’s I’ve ever known. My big brother.

My brother and I are 6 years apart. But from an early age, he stepped into the role of leader when we lost both of our parents. My uncle often tells the story  that as family members argued amongst themselves over our fate, 4 suddenly orphaned children ranging in age from 11 to 3, my brother pulled him aside and adamantly pleaded with him to “not let them separate us”. Having to assume such great responsibility is no easy task, particularly for an 11-year-old. But my brother did it without a moment’s hesitation. He’s always been more father-like than brother-like to my siblings and I. Advising us, chastising us, assisting us, supporting us. He gives unconditionally and limitlessly.

As a student in college, he saw the birth of his son. Despite things not working out with my nephew’s mom, my brother never ever relinquished his role in his son’s life. I remember watching my brother with my nephew, in their matching outfits, fantasizing about the day I would do the same thing with my son. My brother made sure my nephew was a gentleman. He taught him life skills, and though sometimes tough, the lessons he would need to make him a man.

Over the last year, my brother has been challenged as my nephew was diagnosed with an aggressive form of cancer just after turning 19. Tragically, after a long hard fight, my nephew passed on Tuesday March 22.  My heart is broken for the loss of my nephew. He truly was a great, great person. A stand up guy, charming, funny and intelligent. A reflection of his dad.

My heart aches as well for my brother. So much so that the words fail me. I can not describe my grief. It is too near. With love, I salute my brother, for his strength, his devotion, his example. I pray for peace and understanding. I love you big bro!

To my nephew: I love you twin! I’m heartbroken yet steady because I know you are  safe with my mom, your grandmother and all of our ancestors. REST IN POWER.

Join us tonight for Passage of Right at CAu Art galleries:

About neopopstar

Fahamu Pecou (b. 1975) is an American painter based in Atlanta, Georgia whose intention is to comment on contemporary and hip-hop culture while simultaneously subverting it to include his ideas on fine art. In 2005, along with several of Atlanta's premier contemporary artists, Pecou created history at Atlanta's High Museum of Art with the exhibition Arts Beats Lyrics. Since 2005 Fahamu has been featured in several solo and group exhibitions in the U.S. and abroad. His work has been reviewed and featured in numerous publications including Harper's Magazine, NY Arts Magazine, Mass Appeal Magazine, The Fader Magazine, Atlanta Peach Magazine, NY Arts Magazine as well as on the cover of Artlies Magazine. In 2007 Atlanta's Creative Loafing named him Critic's Choice for Best Emerging Artist. He was also awarded a Best in Show Award for the 2007 Atlanta Biennial. In 2008 Pecou was awarded a residency at the Caversham Centre in Kwazulu Natal, South Africa, additionally, Pecou's work was included in DEFINITION: The Art and Design of Hip Hop, an anthology of urban arts written by famed graffiti artist and designer Cey Adams. View all posts by neopopstar

Leave a comment